more on the basement

IMG_3967

Long-time readers of this blog may remember when we got our basement finished. Way back then, I wanted to paint part of the wall as a chalkboard–we had a chalkboard in my basement growing up, and I always found it fun to play around with, especially when playing school, or Dungeons & Dragons. It took a couple of years, but I finally got around to it–and this is what’s waiting for my kids when they get home today. Although, of course, they don’t have chalkboards in school any more. Maybe I should have gotten some whiteboard paint…

September 4, 2009. family life.

6 Comments

  1. Anna McDonnell replied:

    We have chalkboards in our garage – two big ones – and I LOVE them. So much more satisfying than whiteboards…

    Very old, uh, school…

  2. Mary McLure replied:

    Too cool. Maybe once we get a basement I can do something like that..

  3. Jody replied:

    My kids have been angling for a wall like that forever. Very cool.

  4. jo(e) replied:

    When I was a kid, a friend had a chalkboard, and I thought drawing on it was the coolest thing ever.

  5. Liesl replied:

    I popped over here from Chichimama’s place-I think we may live somewhat near you but I’m not sure….anyway

    How did the kids like it when they arrived home? My five-year-old loves the chalkboard on our kids’ painting easel, and I’ve thought about painting one of his walls with that chalkboard paint but wasn’t sure how well it worked…looks like it does a great job!

  6. the five-year mark « Bumblebee Sweet Potato replied:

    […] much happened in September, except that I painted a chalkboard on our basement wall. Oh, and the Bee turned 10. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

