10 Years Ago Today 2

…landisdad and I walked into a hospital as a couple of adults, and walked out as parents. (All right, that was actually 10 years from two days from now, but that’s somewhat less poetic.)

Happy Birthday, darling Bee.

I never thought that you would be almost as tall as I am, by the time you were 10 years old.

I didn’t know that you would be the kind of kid who eats her dessert as slowly as possible, in order to wring every bite of enjoyment out of it.

I knew that you would be a reader (how could you not be? you’re my daughter!), but I never knew how awesome it would be to see you reading at your safety post, every morning.

I never knew you would be such a good singer.

I didn’t know that you would love soccer, even this year when you have to be on a team with boys.

I never knew that I would worry about you every single day of the rest of my life.

I didn’t know that I would be proud of you every single day for the rest of my life.

Thank you for being the best 10-year-old girl in the Western Hemisphere. Have a wonderful birthday, Bee, and may it be followed by a wonderful year.

September 30, 2009. growing up.

10 Comments

  1. Jody replied:

    Happy Birthday, Bee! (And happy parent-day, Bee’s mom and dad. TEN YEARS. Wow.)

  2. MetroDad replied:

    Happy birthday, BEE! Can you believe you’re a parent to a 10-year-old, LM? Incroyable!

  3. Library Lady replied:

    Lovely. Happy birthday to her and congratulations to YOU on 10 years of motherhood.
    (And if you think 10 is scary, wait until FOURTEEN. Sigh….)

  4. Jennifer replied:

    Happy birthday Bee, and congratulations to you on your lovely, lively child!

  5. christie replied:

    awww happy birthday Bee!!!!!

  6. Susan replied:

    Happy, happy birthday, Bee!

  7. jo(e) replied:

    Hope she had a happy birthday. And wow — you’ve been a parent for ten years! That’s a milestone!

  8. chichimama replied:

    Happy belated birthday to her, and wow, ten years!

  9. Liesl replied:

    I hope her birthday was wonderful. And congratulations on a decade of mothering 🙂

  10. the five-year mark « Bumblebee Sweet Potato replied:

    […] happened in September, except that I painted a chalkboard on our basement wall. Oh, and the Bee turned 10. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

