growing up again?

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about why I have felt the need to blog less and less frequently. I think that’s because I don’t want to admit that the time for blogging has possibly passed, and I’m just riding a trend too long.

So here’s my counter-argument.

I started this blog in 2005, when I was the mom of a kindergartener and an eighteen-month-old. While I’ve always had a full-time job, I was tele-commuting then, in a job I had very recently gotten. My kids were young, and my life revolved around them. I spent large parts of every day thinking about them, and about the choices that I was making that affected them

And now it’s four years later, and they’ve grown up some. They’re much more self-sufficient, although not, of course, fully grown. While I still spend a lot of time thinking about them, and talking about them with their father and my friends, I feel less often like the choices that I’m making will unmake or be the making of them. There is a foundation that has been laid for their lives, and while I worry about the walls being straight, I don’t feel like one simple decision will cause the house to be less-than-true.

It seems to me, that just as there are stages of growing up for kids, there are stages of growing up for parents. I feel, to a certain extent, like I’m growing up as a mother.

 

November 5, 2009. thoughtful parenting.

5 Comments

  1. chichimama replied:

    I agree with you totally! Very wise you are…

  2. Jennifer replied:

    Mmm-hmm. I feel the same way. My blog is becoming more about me & my interests.

  3. Jody replied:

    For me, there’s also the sense that I have thought through many of the big issues, or at least that I don’t have anything new to contribute to the conversations about those issues. I feel much more settled in my mind (and somewhat anxious about repeating myself, when I write). That might be a kind of growing up and out of my old blog habits.

  4. Comfort Addict replied:

    I think that there is a place for blogging in the new (as in last couple of years!) Internet world. Through blogs, I connect with people whom I wouldn’t meet through Facebook or other social network. I also think that the cloak of anonymity, as long as it is not abused, can let us be frank in a way that might be difficult otherwise.

    That said, I think that there is nothing wrong with blogging less frequently, changing a blog’s emphasis or other evolutions.

  5. the five-year mark « Bumblebee Sweet Potato replied:

    […] (?) thing worked, even though I’d never sign up for it. I did a fair amount of thinking about blogging and other forms of social media. I also taught the kids to sew, and took a picture of our […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

