Don’t Mess with Textas

Earlier today, I was at a meeting where someone made an announcement about another meeting–the topic of which related to “teens who text instead of talking to their parents.” The person organizing that meeting went on a rant about how teens are “texting, tweeting, FaceSpacing (sic)–they’d rather talk to someone 20,000 miles away, than talk to their own parents!”

I leaned over to the friend next to me & said, “if my kids knew about this kind of intervention, they’d stage it on me, not vice versa!”

He leaned back & said, “I’m pretty sure someone made similar complaints when they invented the telephone–‘No one writes letters anymore!’.”

November 9, 2009. meta.

8 Comments

  1. Jody replied:

    Yeah, I’m busily browsing blogs and Facebook while my sick kid plays with my 2000-vintage GameBoy. So I’m thinking the intervention needs to start with me.

  2. thordora replied:

    It’s so true. There’s always something for cranky adults to whine about…

  3. Jennifer replied:

    When people rant like that, I always wonder what’s REALLY bothering them.

  4. Susan replied:

    And let’s not forget the evils wreaked by the invention of the typewriter and telegraph!

  5. jo(e) replied:

    What’s funny is the assumption that the recipients are 20,000 miles away. My kids text and FB each other (and me) when we’re all sitting in the same room.

  6. Becca replied:

    I’m with Joe–best way to communicate with your kids is to get right in on the texting. M and I resolved a big issue by text the other night–she wasn’t in the same room, but I’d sent her out on an errand to get her out of the house and her bad mood, and while she was gone she texted me what she’d been unable to tell me, and we had a long text conversation that I’m not sure we could have gotten to in person, or at least it would have taken a lot longer.

  7. Comfort Addict replied:

    Though I haven’t texted much, I’m automatically suspicious of anyone who criticizes any particular means of communication. My favorite is face-to-face but we should not discourage the act of communication in any form.

  8. the five-year mark « Bumblebee Sweet Potato replied:

    […] I’d never sign up for it. I did a fair amount of thinking about blogging and other forms of social media. I also taught the kids to sew, and took a picture of our pumpkin-like cat. Finally, I gave thanks […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

