the five-year mark

Five years ago today, I opened my first account at Blogger and started this blog. At that point, the Bee was a five-year-old in kindergarten, and the Potato was only 18 months old. There’s been a lot of water under the bridge since then, both in our house, and on this site. I’m glad I’ve kept this blog going, though it’s been tough to focus on, sometimes. I usually post a year-in-review on my blogaversary (sp?), and I’ll be doing that today. It’s also, as you can see, time for my annual blog redesign.

Tune in tomorrow for Landismom’s greatest hits of the past five years.

February

Believe it or not, I only wrote one blog post last February, which was about my kids’ newspaper reading habits. The irony of that juxtaposition* does not escape me.

March

In March, I posted a couple of times about the effects of the recession, on the kids’ school and the number of people that I knew who were looking for work. We also welcomed a new niece to the family, and the Bee had some advice for her older sister.

April

The Bee took home her first spelling bee trophy. The kids staged their first demonstration. And I worried about how to push the Bee out of the nest, a tiny little bit.

May

In May, I took a step back and wrote two posts about ten things I love about each kid. We had some major emotional breakthroughs in our house, which were difficult for everyone. And on the cusp of fifth grade, the Bee got made a safety.

June
In June, I spent a solid week wearing green in solidarity with the Iranians who were protesting the theft of their election, and marveling at the online support their democracy movement was receiving. The end of the school year came, and with it, a use for my blog that I never would have anticipated when I started it. I also violated my son’s rights in a most egregious way.

July

This year, for the first time, our kids went to day camp together. I took a solo trip with the kids to visit my mom. I was glad that the Bee was in therapy before we took that trip, and while things aren’t perfect, they’re slowly getting better.

August

was a jam-packed month, with the tea parties, and various vacation-related events. The kids started school before Labor Day, for the first time ever.

September

Not much happened in September, except that I painted a chalkboard on our basement wall. Oh, and the Bee turned 10. 10!

October

I got a creepy email from a campaign worker (whose candidate ended up dropping out of the race…go figure. And the Bee had to deal with another kid stealing from her in school.

November

I might have blogged in November more than any other month of the last year. Maybe that NaBlWriMo (?) thing worked, even though I’d never sign up for it. I did a fair amount of thinking about blogging and other forms of social media. I also taught the kids to sew, and took a picture of our pumpkin-like cat. Finally, I gave thanks for the little readers my kids are becoming.

December

In December, I had a crazy amount of work-related travel. The Potato wrote me his first-ever “mom’s going on the road” note, and got a Christmas present for his stuffed animal. The Bee came up with an idea for a new reality show (not, thank god, Jersey Shore). And I had my heart embiggened by a huge blizzard.

January

So far this year, I’ve been wondering about kids growing up, and enjoying the things they do now.

*the irony being that newspapers are dying the death of a thousand cuts via the internet being the topic of the only blog post I wrote in a month, that is

January 31, 2010. meta.

4 Comments

  1. jackie replied:

    When I first switched to WordPress, I used this template! I’ve thought about going back to it, so it’s nice to see it again.

    I’m glad you’re still blogging too 🙂

  2. She Started It replied:

    I like this template. It’s so clean and fresh.

    Congrats on a great 5 years!

  3. Chef Bill replied:

    I’m glad that both you and I are still around. I still see a place for blogging in a Facebook and Twitter world (subject of an upcoming post, in fact). Congrats on your milestone.

  4. penguinunearthed replied:

    Congratulations! I think I’ve been reading you for a lot of that time, and enjoying it, given my kids are a little younger.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

