can you delurk on your own blog?

Still crazy at work, but I thought I’d stop by & talk a little bit about the transition to middle school.

The Bee has been having a fairly successful year, so far (knock wood). The transition to middle school has some fairly steep hills–for one, it starts at 7:50 a.m. Yes, you read that right, seven-freaking-fifty in the morning. Thank god the Bee is a highly driven girl, because she actually gets herself out of bed, makes herself breakfast, and gets dressed and is walking out the door by 7:25 most days.

She’s been playing field hockey this year, which has practice or a game four days a week after school, so she’s been getting home at roughly 5 or 5:30 every night. And then she has generally an hour to an hour-and-a-half of homework to plow through. It’s a grueling schedule for an adult, much less an eleven-year-old!

Field hockey ends this week, and I think she’s looking forward to the opportunity to just hang out with friends after school, and to have a more leisurely time to do her homework.

The other thing she’s had to get used to was going from having one main teacher to having different teachers for every course. It surprised me, somewhat, that the sixth grade teachers don’t seem to spend much time coordinating with each other—in the second or third week of school, two different teachers assigned big projects that were due within a day of each other—and knowing that I have a highly-driven kid, who is struggling with that work, makes me wonder what it’s like for other parents.

The social elements of middle school also seem to be not terrible from her perspective at this point, although there have been incidents of cyber-bullying that have made me not regret my decision to keep her off Facebook for a while. landisdad and I are extremely unhappy with the way that the school (and the parents of some of the kids involved) seem to be handling it, and I’m not at all eager to have her in that hot mess. Texting seems to be going well, and while she has IM capacity, I’m pretty sure that I’m the only person she routinely IMs.

I’m hoping that the social world will continue to be easy. It’s good that she has a larger pool of friends now, though she seems to be hanging on to her best friend from elementary school still.

I’ll be back post-election to post more about the Potato’s life in second grade.

October 24, 2010. family life.

8 Comments

  1. Jackie replied:

    Glad to hear 6th grade is going well! As a teacher, I have to pipe up about the coordinated work thing–we all have so many assignments we need to fit into each quarter, and there’s only so much staggering you can do and still have “enough” grades to give a fair assessment at quarter’s or semester’s end.

  2. Jody replied:

    Glad to hear things are going so well. I confess, I’m already a bit anxious about that transition. Borrowing trouble, no doubt.

    Also glad to hear that others plan to delay Facebook as long as possible. I’m definitely in that camp, too.

  3. landismom replied:

    Jackie–yeah, I get that–I was just surprised that they didn’t give the incoming sixth graders a little more time to adjust before dumping that on them. I mean, these are kids who are still figuring out how to open their lockers! But maybe that’s too helicopter-mom of me.

  4. MD replied:

    How is it possible that the Bee is in middle school already? It seems like just yesterday that she was learning how to read. So awesome, LM.

    As for the pitfalls that come with having a child that age? I’m happy to learn from you and landisdad. I’ve always admired the approach and philosophy you guys take towards parenting.

  5. She Started It replied:

    I have heart palpitations when I think of middle school. And I’m still a few years away.

    We start school at 7:40. I feel your pain. It’s brutal.

  6. Becca replied:

    That’s great. M really did have a pretty smooth time in middle school–some issues in 6th grade, but they were issues with the neighborhood kids and school was fine. So it’s possible!

  7. Jennifer (ponderosa) replied:

    I can’t even imagine that schedule. Wow.

  8. elise replied:

    In our school district they try to transition the kids into middle school by having the sixth graders in the same classroom for reading, language arts and social studies – all the same teacher for three periods. Then the other 4 periods they have separate teachers. Combining the three also helps with not having too many big projects due at once. School starts at 8:05 am but as their motto goes “if you are on time, you are late!” Sarah gets there at 7:45 am. Also, my older kids that are in high school, have to be on the bus by 6:54 am to get there on time!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

