grateful

I’m delurking on my own blog, in honor of my birthday.

Things have been evening out, over time. During the summer, the kids have been spending half their time with me, and it’s making my apartment feel a lot more like home to them, I think. They have things they like to do in my neighborhood, restaurants that are becoming our regular haunts, they have books and movies here that aren’t at the old house, things they look forward to seeing when they stay with me.

Landisdad and I are nearing the end of the mediation process. It’s been challenging, at times, to deal with. A friend asked me the other day, “I thought mediation was supposed to be easier than a contested divorce,” and I said, “Easier is not the same as easy.” I haven’t gone through a contested divorce, and I can only speculate that ours IS easier, having watched several friends going through a hard, hard time. But it is not easy, by a long shot.

But today, is not for difficult.

Today, I am grateful for the love of my wonderful children. Today, I am grateful for the wickedly awesome friends I have, many of whom have sent me birthday wishes and greetings. Today, I am grateful for the new love in my life.

42 was a hard, hard year. I am grateful that I got through it, that I navigated that trip around the sun and survived. I’m grateful that I’ve made it to 43.

July 10, 2011. family life.

4 Comments

  1. chichimama replied:

    Happy birthday! And the best of wishes for a fabulous 43!

  2. Jackie replied:

    I’m wishing you a wonderful 43, dear landismom!

  3. Susan replied:

    Happy Birthday! Wishing you much more to nd grateful for in the year ahead.

  4. Jeff replied:

    Happiest of birthdays to you. May 43 be brilliant.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

