2006–a look back

I know, I promised a vacation post, but it’s unpacking day here at Chez Landisville. Tomorrow, I swear. But for now, enjoy a little New Year’s meme…

It’s the first line of the first post of each month. As seen at Chichimama’s & Elizabeth’s places:

January 3, 2006: As we (or at least I) approach the one-year anniversary of this here blog, I’ve been giving some thought to moving out of the blogspot neighborhood.

February 2, 2006: The Bee has been put into some kind of advanced program in her school. I’m not sure how I feel about it, because 1st grade seems a little young to start tracking kids into different academic programs.

March 1, 2006: Over at the Bored Housewives Network, Doppelganger has added a new feature: Ask a Bored Housewife.

April 1, 2006: No, really.

May 2, 2006: I’ve been unsatisfied with the stuff I’ve had to read recently, and I’m looking for something new to love.

June 1, 2006: I realized that I’ve been writing about the Bee’s journey into reading a lot lately, and thought that I shouldn’t neglect my Potato.

July 1, 2006: At the end of each day, Mommy is covered from head to toe with sweat, security badges, marked calendars, remorse, cigarette ash, special orders, blisters, eye drops, and coffee stains.

August 1, 2006: Lately, the Bee has adopted one of the less-attractive habits of Violet Beauregarde, and has been ’saving’ her chewed gum to chew again, particularly around meals.

September 3, 2006: In my mid-twenties, I worked as a freelance political consultant in California. I had all manner of bizarre work-related experiences doing that gig, but I also met one of my most important mentors, who I’ll call Matt.

October 1, 2006: Note to self: when planning to have a sleepover for four seven-year-old girls, why not instead throw a party at the Ritz?

November 8, 2006: There’s a famous quote to the effect that if you enjoy sausage or politics, it’s best not to watch either being prepared.

December 2, 2006: We took the kids to the beach today.

January 1, 2007. memes.

6 Comments

  1. Kimberly replied:

    cool meme. I’m stealing it 🙂

    Happy New Year.

  2. New Year’s meme « Our Great European Adventure replied:

    […] European Adventure One Year in Spain « The Great (Ecumenic) Mosque of Cordoba? New Year’s meme January 1st, 2007 It’s the first line of the first post of each month. Mine goes back only asfar as April, because that’s when I started this blog. I found it at landismom’s site. […]

  3. jo(e) replied:

    Happy New Year!

  4. Comfort Addict replied:

    That’s an interesting snapshot, LM. Well done. Happy New Year to you and all.

  5. chrisfiore5 replied:

    just a random hit, bumblebee sweet potato… hope you have a great new year. peace.

  6. Becky replied:

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

