Blog for Workers’ Rights

About a month ago, I asked my friends in the blogosphere to write a post, sometime over Labor Day weekend, about anything having to do with work or unions. I’m collecting posts as I get them, so this post will refresh as new ones are added. Without further ado:

Particpants:

I also wanted to give people some useful links for more info on these subjects.

First, here’s an interesting post I read a few days ago about Apple’s iPod factories and unionism. I was somewhat surprised to see that it was written by the managing editor.

Jonathan Tasini’s blog Working Life has been doing some good work recently on the destruction of the U.S. pension system.

Nathan Newman’s Labor Blog has become more sporadic since he’s been blogging in other places, but it’s still good stuff.

Jordan Barab’s Confined Space blog is always good for a chilling story on health and safety issues on the job.

SEIU’s affiliate, Purple Ocean, has a decent blog community.

And then of course there are the two labor federations, Change to Win and the AFL-CIO.

Have a happy Labor Day, everyone. And if you’ve gotta work today, I hope you’re getting overtime.

September 4, 2006. meta, work.

7 Comments

  1. Jim replied:

    I have NEVER worked for a union but I support them whole-heartedly. I dream of the day when they reassert their power on the labor scene AND the political scene.

    As you read on my blog (and tyvm for the lovely comment!), some jobs have a different kind of reward. I went into it understanding I was going to remain poor. Poor but enriched.

  2. jackie replied:

    I just posted mine, hope you have some suggestions for me on how to think about the stuff I talked about– I’m a neophyte as far as the labor movement goes but am looking forward to learning more.

  3. emma goldman replied:

    I’m a slacker–I’ve been writing about my job a lot, but not about labor so much, and, seeing as how I’m working today (on some side work), I won’t get to the requested post on the actual labor day weekend, but I promise (really!) that I’ll write the post eventually. Thanks for doing this!

  4. penguinunearthed replied:

    Thanks for the link – I’ll have to check out the others

  5. Daydreams and Musings replied:

    I read most of the posts you linked – very interesting stuff!

  6. Workers of the World, Click Here! « Bumblebee Sweet Potato replied:

    […] World, Click Here! 03Sep07 Last year, I hosted a blog carnival on Labor Day weekend called Blog for Workers’ Rights. This year, I knew I wasn’t going to have time to do it, so I didn’t try. Here’s […]

  7. 2007–the year in review « Bumblebee Sweet Potato replied:

    […] Last year, I hosted a blog carnival on Labor Day weekend called Blog for Workers’ Rights. […]

Leave a comment

Trackback URI