Ich bin ein Rabenmutter!

There's a whole bunch of stuff in the Times today that I wanted to blog about–this article, about the divide in public policy between so-called Blue states versus Red states. A few months ago, I blogged about the changes in laws that are prompting gay and lesbian families to move out of states that are taking away their parental and civil rights. This article, with its conclusion that the state/federal policy divergences usually get realigned cyclically, made me wonder how long we'll have to be fighting off right-wing social policy at the state level before that happens.

There was also this interesting article on immigrant workers' centers. I'm glad to see that these centers are on an upsurge again, especially since the Bush administration's response to the pro-immigrant rallies of recent months has been to start raiding workplaces.

And last but not least, this. Let the German mommy wars begin. And the photo? A little too Kinder, Kuche, Kirche for me.

April 23, 2006. random other things.

5 Comments

  1. HeatherJ replied:

    I guess there is much more to supporting mothers than just an exceptional maternity leave policy.

  2. FunnyBusiness replied:

    ” I suppose I could have stayed home and baked cookies and had teas”

    This is cross posted at Blogher As American Women begin to realize that the Mommy Wars is nothing more than a case of WAG THE DOG, it seems as if things are heating up in Germany.The The NYT Week In

  3. Anne replied:

    I’m a rabenmutter too. Had no idea the situation was so grim for German working mothers.

  4. chip replied:

    hmm, I guess that makes me a rabenvater…

  5. alala replied:

    No, Chip, that’s part of the problem, is that these pressures are only inflicted on the moms here, not the dads. There are no Rabenväter, that’s what’s so unfair.

    As for the exceptional maternity leave policy, um, yes it is a great idea as such, but it’s perfectly legal here to refuse to hire a woman because she might get pregnant, and employers frequently do just that.

Leave a comment

Trackback URI